GTBank Heritage Cup rebranded as GTBank Masters’ Cup; Season 4 kicks off

Posted by Amechi Obiakpu, Lagos | 28 October 2014 | 4,312 times

Gmail icon

Guaranty Trust Bank plc in partnership with Lagos State First Generation Colleges Association (LAFGECA) has announced the renaming of the GTBank Heritage Cup competition as GTBank Masters Cup.

Football lovers and sports enthusiasts can look forward to the competition as the 2014/15 season (Season 4) kicks off today, October 28, following the draws of the 26 participating schools last week Tuesday at Kings College, Lagos.

Debuting this season are Federal Government College, Ijaniki, Federal Science of Art Technical College, Yaba, and Jubril Martins Memorial Grammar School, Iponri.

The two opening matches which will be played simultaneously at 10:00 a.m. will see Kings College Lagos take on Methodist Boys High School, Yaba, at the St. Gregory’s College Ikoyi football pitch while Baptist Academy Obanikoro will take on St. Gregory’s College Ikoyi at the football pitch of CMS Grammar School Bariga.

GTBank’s Managing Director and CEO, Mr. Segun Agbaje, has reiterated the bank’s support towards the development of grassroots football in Africa. He encouraged the players to practise hard and continue to play by the rules as they prepare to showcase their skills and talents to the world.

GTBank is one of the few Nigerian financial institutions that have maintained a defined Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) strategy, most especially in sports education. The GTBank Masters Cup and the Principals Cup tournament sponsored by GTBank have over the years helped in talent discovery amongst students and have encouraged student retention in schools.

2014 GTBank Masters Cup Male Teams Grouping:

GRP    A                               B                                                    C                                         D

1 Kings College, Lagos  St. Gregory’s College, Ikoyi  St. Finbarrs College, Akoka  Anwar-Ul Islam Model

                                                                                                                  College Agege

2 Methodist  Boys High  Baptist Academy, Obanikoro  Ansaru-Ud Deen Grammar  Federal Science of Art

   School, V/Island                                                  School, Randle                  Technical College, Yaba

3 Grace High School,  Eko Boys High School, Mushin  Whitesands, V/Island          Western College, Yaba


4 Ansaru-Ud Deen     Adrao Int’l School, V/Island     CMS Grammar Sch, Bariga  Corona Sec. Sch, Agbara

   College, Isolo

5 Fed. Govt. Coll.Ijaniki  Jubril Martins Memo. Gramm Sch, Iponri          ---          Dowen College, Lekki  

2014 GTBank Masters Cup Female Teams Grouping:

GRP              A                                                                          B

1 Ansar-Ud Deen Girls High School, Itire             Queen’s College, Yaba

2 Jubril Martins Memo. Grammar School, Iponri   Federal Govt. College, Ijanikin

3 Fed Science of Art Technical College, Yaba        Methodist Girls High School, Yaba

4 Grace High School                                               Corona Sec School, Agbara

5 Ansar-Ud Deen College, Isolo                            Holy Child College, Ikoyi

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...