Breaking News: SEC gets new Board (plus list of members)

Posted by News Express | 22 December 2012 | 3,898 times

Gmail icon

The Board of Nigeria’s capital market regulator, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), has been reconstituted, according to a statement by the Coordinating Minister for the Economy and Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.

The statement just issued in Abuja, the Nigerian capital, by Paul C Nwabuikwu, Special Adviser to Dr. Okonjo-Iweala, named four Executive Commissioners and two Non-Executive Commissioners as members of the new Board.

Nwabuikwu said the appointment had been approved by President Goodluck Jonathan “in line with the provisions of section 5 of the Investment and Securities Act 2007.”

News Express reports that the reconstitution of the SEC Board is coming two days after the Nigerian Government also appointed new boards for the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety (NIMASA), Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) and Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN).

Below is the composition of the new SEC Board:

1.   Dr Suleyman Abdu Ndanusa

Zone: North Central

Position: Chairman

2.   Mallam Mounir Haliru Gwarzo

Zone: North West

Position: Executive Commissioner

3.   Mrs Sa’adatu Mohammed Bello

Zone: North Central

Position: Executive Commissioner

4.   Rt. Hon. Zakawanu Imhobobho Garuba

Zone: South South

Position: Executive Commissioner

5.   Barrister Adefunke Abiodun

Zone: South West

Position: Non-Executive Commissioner

6.   Mr Ugochukwu Ikemba

Zone: South East

Position: Non-Executive Commissioner

Photo: Okonjo-Iweala.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...