Buhari writes Senate, seeks confirmation of 26 new nominees + Names of all nominees

Posted by News Express | 10 April 2018 | 2,406 times

Gmail icon

•President Buhari


President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate seeking approval for 26 nominees. 

In the separate letters, President Buhari is requesting confirmation of one National Commissioner of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), two non-legal practitioner members of the Federal Judicial Service Commission and 23 other members of the National Population Commission (NPC). 

In the first letter, the President is requesting the confirmation of Barrister Festus Okoye as National Commissioner of INEC and Abba Ali (Katsina-North west) and Mohammed Sagir (Niger-North central) as Non-Legal Practitioner Members of the Federal Judicial Service Commission. 

President Buhari in the second letter also forwarded the names of twenty-three nominees for appointment as members of the National Population Commission.

Senate President Bukola Saraki while reading from the letter on Tuesday said that the President hopes that his request will receive speedy consideration of the Senate.

“I write to forward to the Distinguished Senate, the name of Barrister Festus Okoye, for confirmation as a National Commissioner representing the South East Geopolitical Zone.

“While hoping that this request will receive the usual expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept Mr Senate President, the assurance of my highest regards,” he read.

The Senate President also read to the National Assembly, President Buhari’s letter seeking confirmation for the 23 other National Population Commission (NPC) members.

The 23 nominees for the NPC are; Nwanne Johnny Nwabuisi (Abia), Dr Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Mr Chidi Christopher Ezeoke (Anambra), Barrister Isa Audu Buratai (Borno), Navy Captain Charles Iyam Ogwa(Cross River), Sir Richard Odibo (Delta), Okereke Darlington Onaubuchi (Ebonyi) and Mr A.D. Olusegun Aiyajina (Edo).

Others are; Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Hon. Abubakar Mohammed Danburam (Gombe), Prof. Uba S.F. Nnabue (Imo), Dr. Abdulmalik Mohammed Durunguwa (Kaduna), Sulaiman Ismaila Lawal (Kano), Prof. Jimoh Habibat Isah (Kogi), Dr. Sa’adu Ayinla Alanamu (Kwara), Nasir Isa kwarra (Nasarawa).

Also nominated are: Barrister Aliyu Datti (Niger), Yeye (Mrs) Seyi Adererinokun Olusanya (Ogun), Prince Oladiran Garvey Iyantan (Ondo), Senator Mudashiru Oyetunde Hussain (Osun), Mrs Cecilia Arsun Dapoet (Plateau), Dr Ipalibo Macdonald Harry (Rivers), Sale S. Saany (Taraba).

However, the Senate adjourned the plenary to Wednesday, April 11. (Channels TV)


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...