Breaking: PDP loses 11 Senators to APC . . . but gains Shekarau and supporters

Posted by News Express | 29 January 2014 | 3,639 times

Gmail icon

The number of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) senators today further dropped from 72 to 61 following the defection of 11 senators to the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC), the number of whose senators has as a result shot up to 33.

But it has not been a day of only losses for the PDP, which capture a big fish in immediate past Kano State Governor, Alhaji Ibrahim Shekarau, an APC chieftain until this morning, who has now defected to PDP with thousands of his supporters at a ceremony in Kano.

Below is the list of the 11 senators who announced their defection to the APC in a letter to Senate President David Mark:

1. Senator Bukola Saraki – Kwara Central (shown in photo)

2. Senator Umaru Dahiru – Sokoto South

3. Senator Magnus Ngei Abe – Rivers South-East

4. Senator Wilson Asinobi Ake – Rivers  West

5. Sen. Bindawa Muhammed Jibrilla – Adamawa North

6. Sen. Mohammed Danjuma Goje – Gombe central

7. Sen. Aisha Jummai Alhassan – Taraba North

8. Sen. Mohammed Ali Ndume – Borno South

9. Senator Mohammed Shaba Lafiaji – Kwara North

10. Sen. Abdulahi Adamu – Nasarawa West

11. Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir – Sokoto East

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...