Osinbajo removes ICPC boss, appoints replacement

Posted by News Express | 2 August 2017 | 1,921 times

Gmail icon

•Ex-ICPC Chairman Ekpo Nta

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has appointed Professor Bolaji Owasanoye as the new chairman of the Independent Corrupt practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

Owasanoye replaces Mr. Ekpo Una Owo Nta, who has been redeployed to the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission (NSIWC) as a full-time Commissioner.

Prof Owasanoye was until his appointment the Executive Secretary, Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption (PACAC), headed by Professor Iste Sagay.

The Director Press in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), Bolaji Adebiyi, announced the new appointments last night in a statement.

Prof. Musa Usman Abubakar is the new secretary of the 14-member ICPC, the statement said.

Other members of the ICPC are Dr. Grace N. Chinda, Okolo M. Titus,  Obiora Igwedebia, Mrs. Olubukola Balogun, Group Captain Sam Ewang (Rtd.), Justice Adamu Bello, Hannatu Mohammed, Abdullahi Maikano Saidu, Dr. Sa’ad Alanamu, Yahaya Umar Dauda,Khamis Ahmed Mailantarki, (former member House of Representatives) and Maimuna Aliyu.

The appointment of the Chairman is for five years, while the tenure for all the members is four years. The appointments are subject to Senate confirmation, the statement said.

Apart from Nta, two other persons have also been appointed as full-time Commissioners in the NSIWC. They are Alhaji Dauda Yahaya and Garba Musa Gulma.

Other members are the Permanent Secretaries Establishment in the Office of the Head of Civil Service and Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity as well as Comrade Isa Aremu from the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and Mr. Chuma Nwankwo of the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA).

Four others are made part-time commissioners. These are Victoria Nnenna Chukwuani, Mr. Geoffery Yeilong, Prof. Ropo Shekoni, and Ahmed Mahmud Gumel.

The new appointments in the NSIWC are for five years. However, the Chairman of the Commission, High Chief Richard Egbule and the Secretary Mr. E. A. Thompson were appointed in August 2014.

Mr. Siaka Isaiah Idoko is appointed the new Chairman/CEO of the 10-man Investment and Security Tribunal. Four full-time members are Jude I. Udunni, Mr. Nosa Osemwengie, Abubakar A. Ahmad and Albert L. Otesile.

Five others are made part-time members of the tribunal. These are Emeka Madubuike, Kasumi Garba Kurfi, Edward O. Ajayi, Onyemaechi E. M. Elujekor and Mamman Bukar Zargana.

The Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC) has Engr. Chidi K. C. Izuwah as the new Director-General. His appointment is also subject to Senate confirmation.

The statement said the acting president has approved the setting up of a Special Presidential Investigation Panel for the Recovery of Public Property.

The Chairman of the Panel is Chief Okoi Obono-Obla, the Special Assistant to the President on Prosecution, while Mr. Akingbolahan Adeniran is the Secretary to the panel. (Daily Trust)

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...