Akunyili, other prominent Nigerians to raise funds for flood victims

Posted by News Express | 9 October 2012 | 3,146 times

Gmail icon

Immediate past Information and Communications Minister, Prof. Dora Akunyili, was this afternoon appointed into the National Committee on Flood Relief and Rehabilitation alongside some other distinguished Nigerians.

The committee, as News Express previously reported, was set up by President Goodluck Jonathan, as announced this morning during his live national broadcast.

The President had announced Alhaji Aliko Dangote Mr.  Olisa Agbakoba as Co-Chairmen of the committee and Dr. Mike Adenuga Jnr. As the Chief Fund Mobiliser. He promised that other members of the committees would be announced shortly.

The promise was fulfilled through a statement by Jonathan’s spokesman, Dr. Reuben Abati, who said that the committee would “raise funds in support of Government’s efforts to provide urgent relief for victims of recent floods across the country.” 

According to the statement, “The Committee has been given the mandate to raise funds to complement government’s resources for the provision of relief to flood victims across the country and the post-impact rehabilitation of affected persons and communities. 

“The Committee which is also expected to advise government on the judicious utilization of funds raised, has been authorized by President Jonathan to co-opt any other persons or organizations that it may find useful in carrying out its assignment. 

“The Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation will provide a secretariat for the Committee.”

Below are members of the Committee, which has been given one year to conclude its task:

1. Alhaji Aliko Dangote                                             -         Co-Chairman

2. Mr.  Olisa Agbakoba                                             -          Co-Chairman

3. Dr.  Mike Adenuga Jnr.                                         -         Chief Fund Mobilizer

4. Alhaji Karami Isiaku Rabiu                                   -          Member  

5. Alhaji Mohammed Indimi                                     -          Member

6. Ngo Hannatu Cholum                                           -           Member

7. Mrs. Folorunsho Alakija                                       -           Member

8. Prof. Dora Akunyili                                              -           Member

9. Mr. Tony Elumelu                                                -           Member

10. Secretary-General, Nigerian Red Cross               -           Member

11. Representative of C.A.N.                                    -           Member

12. Representative of  N.S.C.I.A.                              -           Member

13. Representative of the UNDP                               -           Member

14. Representative of the European Union                -           Member

15. Representative of DFID                                      -           Member 

16. Representative of USAID                                   -           Member

17. Perm. Sec., Fed. Ministry of Environment          -           Member

18. Perm. Sec., Fed. Min. of Water Resources          -           Member

19. Perm. Sec., Federal Ministry of Works               -           Member

20. Perm. Sec., Federal Ministry of Agriculture        -           Member

21. Perm. Sec. Federal Ministry of Health                -           Member

22. Perm. Sec., Federal Ministry of Finance             -           Member

23. Perm.  Sec., Fed. Ministry of National Planning -           Member

24. Director-General, NEMA                                   -           Member

25. Ag. Commissioner, National Commission for Refugees - Member

26. Perm. Sec., Ecological Funds Office                 -           Member

27. Chairman, Senate Committee on Special Duties -           Member

28. Chairman, House Committee on Environment    -           Member

29. Rep., Nigerian Union of Journalists                    -           Member

30. Rep., National Council of Women’s Societies    -           Member

31. Mr. Tunde Lemo, (Representing the CBN)         -           Member

32. Ms. Fatima Wali                                                 -           Member

33. Mr. Frank Nweke Jnr.                                        -           Member

34. Senator Florence Ita-Giwa                                  -           Member

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...