Super Eagles Manager names 23 gladiators for 2019 AFCON qualifier against South Africa

Posted by George Akpayen | 31 May 2017 | 2,300 times

Gmail icon

•Wing wizard Henry Onyekuru in action.

Arsenal-bound winger Henry Onyekuru and VfL Wolfsburg youngster Victor Osimhen have been included in Nigeria’s roster for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match billed to hold on June 10.

The duo have been named in the Nigeria 23-man team in which experienced trio of Odion Ighalo, Brown Ideye and Mikel John Obi have been left out.

Chelsea winger Victor Moses was also left out of the roster.

KAS Eupen’s Onyekuru has been in fine form for his Belgian club and featured in Nigeria’s 1-1 draw with Corsica in a practice game last week.

Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr has decided to show faith in 18-year-old Osimhen who has featured more as a fringe player at his German Bundesliga club this season after recovering from injury.

However it is Onyekuru whose goals caught the attention of the Nigerian selectors and now KAS Eupen have agreed a fee for him to move to North London pending when personal terms are sorted out.

Onyekuru scored 25 goals and provided nine assists for Eupen.

Two players from the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) are also named in the Super Eagles team to face South Africa's Bafana Bafana at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo.

FC Ifeanyiubah goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, a regular call-up in the national team setup and Akwa United’s Alhassan, who has scored 10 league goals this season are the inclusion from the domestic championship.

A surprise call was handed to Egypt-based Maroof Youssef who plays for Zamalek SC as a midfielder but listed as a defender by Nigeria.

The list of invited players for the Bafana Bafana game comes before Nigeria’s international friendly with Togo in Paris on Thursday.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Dele Alampasu

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile, William Troost-Ekong, Chidozie Awaziem, Tyronne Ebuehi, Kenneth Omeruo, Maroof Youssef, Abdullahi Shehu

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi, Wilfred Ndidi, Mikel Agu, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Alhassan Ibrahim

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Olarenwaju Kayode, Henry Onyekuru, Alex Iwobi, Victor Osimhen, Simon Moses (Supersport)


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...