Anambra, Adamawa, Ogun, Akwa Ibom and Kebbi Governors to slug it out for 2017 Nigeria Arise Awards

Posted by News Express | 2 January 2017 | 3,601 times

Gmail icon

Nigeria Arise Awards initiator Alistair Soyode.

Governors of Anambra, Adamawa, Ogun, Akwa Ibom and Kebbi states are among those that will battle it out for the Nigeria Arise Governor of the Year scheduled for London, while other leading national players and organisations will be honoured at the event, the organisers said over the weekend.

Established in 2008, the Honours and Awards are part of the drive to recognise and encourage great and exemplary leaders in and outside Nigeria who have contributed to Nigeria’s democratic growth, entrepreneurship and good governance.

“For about eight years, the Nigeria Arise team has focused on finding the people and corporate entities helping to shape the nation, her developments, the unity and delivering positive life-changing experiences as well as successful stories of Arise Nigerians,” says Alistair Soyode, the initiator.

From the inception of the prestigious Award in 2008 till today, many global leaders and Nigerians have been recipients such as, President of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Christine Ohuruogu, Ondo State Government, Dana Air, The Brainiest Family in Europe, Nollywood Stars and Sporting icons among others.

The Green carpet awards gala has honoured people dedicated to service and humanity in Nigeria such as Alhaji Mohammed of Shagalinku Group in Abuja, former Governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi, Minister of Transport, Hon. Rotimi Amaechi, Globacom, former Lagos State Governor and now Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Hon. Raji Fashola SAN, Minority Leader Barr. Godswill Akpabio and former Governor of Kano State, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso amongst others and institutions that have brought together initiatives to support and create social corporate responsibility for the benefits of the nation and her people.

The Nigeria Arise Awards is put together and supported by leading media organisations and other brand companies packaged in the Diaspora by Europe's First Ethnic Satellite Television, BEN Television (BEN TV).

The mission statement is to recognise Nigerians both in public and private sector doing wonderful and exceptional things, delivering good governance and providing them with the platform for global presence as well as facilitating networking opportunities with leaders and captain of industry. This event and awards will bring together individuals and organisations supporting greater leadership ethics, dividend of political growth and inclusiveness, entrepreneurship, investment and good governance to explore ways of spreading best practice as well as to stimulate sustainable political leadership and entrepreneurship.

Speaking on the Nigeria Arise Awards, the President of African Round Table, Dr. Bamanga Tukur, said: “As we celebrate these recipients, one has to acknowledge the dedication of the committee for recognising Nigerians only when they believed it is time to do so and thank God for those selected and nominated. I acknowledge that we have wonderful and hard-working winners whose responsibility is to make Nigeria greater and better. A mileage and reference point for Nigerians.”

A statement by the organisers said that the Nigeria Arise Awards will be broadcast on the platform of national and international media and partners in Nigeria, the UK and around the world.

The organisers had this to say about some of the listed categories and nominees:

Product/Brand of the Year has Chief Tony Ezenna for breaking the production line with ‘soap noodles’, a nationally produced product in Nigeria; Power Oil, for hitting the Nigerian market in sachet and having the interest of millions and Oscar Ekponimo of Nigerian software company, Chowberry.

Corporate Personality of the Year has Dr. Cosmas Maduka of Coscharis Group, for his drive and new entry into agriculture, massive investment in Anambra State for food production and his innovation in the motor industry & Mrs. Funke Opeke, MD/CEO of Main One Cable Limited. The company pioneered the building of a private submarine cable system in West Africa providing much needed telecom and wholesale broadband services across West African sub-region

Recognition Award of the Year – Senator David Dafinone for being in Nigeria Book of Records as producing the largest number of qualified accountants in a family not just in Nigeria and former Minister in Nigeria, Mrs. Nike Akande, President of the Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Enterprise Award of the Year – The Enterprise award has Alhaji Tajudeen Owoyemi’s Avalon Intercontinental Nigeria Limited, owners of Brand Hotels in Nigeria and Otunba Olasubonmi Balogun, who pioneered the Nigeria’s first indigenous bank, First City Monument Group (FCMB)

Hero Award – Lieutenant Colonel Mohammed Abu-Ali and other fallen Nigerian soldiers and Dr. Stella Ameyo Adadevoh.

Community Support of the Year – NAFOWA’s Mrs. Hafsat Abubakar for the force’s educational supports and skill acquisition and vocational trainings and African Women Power Network (AWP Network) Founded by Mary Olushoga. The organisation provides training programme, helping women farmers hone their entrepreneurial skills, increase farming productivity, and household income. Their DREAM project – a pitch competition for secondary school students in Lagos – is actively building new entrepreneurs from that level.

Nigeria Arise – Government Agency or Commission has the Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) and The Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) in the polls.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...