FG inaugurates Electoral Reforms Committee

Posted by News Express | 5 October 2016 | 2,859 times

Gmail icon

The Nigerian Government has inaugurated a constitutional and electoral reforms committee to be headed by a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani.

The committee was inaugurated by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami.

It is expected to Review Electoral environment, laws and experiences from recent elections conducted in Nigeria and make recommendations to strengthen and achieve the conduct of free and fair elections in Nigeria

Malami advised the committee to consult far and wide, and in particular with National Assembly and judiciary in order to make recommendations that would stand the test of time.

He expressed the hope that the committee would turn in a report with depth and quality that  would resound for years to come and would facilitate the re-engineering of the electoral practice.

He said the terms of reference of the committee are to review recent judicial decisions on election petitions as they relate to conflicting judgments and absence of consequential orders.

The members of the committee are Oluwole Uzzi, O. O. Babalola, Duruaku Chima, Musa Maryam, H.A Tahir, Ike Udunni, S.O Ibrahim, and Esther Uzoma,

Others include Muiz Banire, Eze Philip, Bashir Ibrahim, Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi, Utum Eteng, Ejike Eze, Mamman Lawal, A.C Ude and E. Ifendu,

The remaining are Francis Bullen, Anike Nwoga, Cecilia Adams, Clement Nwankwo, C. Jude, Mohammed Tukur and Juliet Ibekaku. (TV360 Nigeria)

•Photo shows Committee Chairman Ken Nnamani.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...