Supreme Court upholds election of Yobe and Oyo Governors

Posted by News Express | 3 February 2016 | 2,386 times

Gmail icon

The Supreme Court has dismissed appeals filed against the election of the governors of Yobe and Oyo states.

In a unanimous judgment, the seven man panel of the apex court led by Justice Walter Onnoghen yesterday dismissed the appeal filed by Senator Rashidi Ladoja of the Accord Party challenging the election of Senator Abiola Ajumobi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as Governor of Oyo State and that of Alhaji Maina Waziri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) against the declaration of Alhaji Ibrahim Gaidem of APC as Governor of Yobe State.

The apex court justices said the appeals lacked merit, but deferred reasons for their decisions to February 15, 2016.

The journey to the Supreme Court began at the various election petition tribunals where they were dismissed for lack of merit. The litigants proceeded to the appellate court, which equally dismissed them, leaving the aggrieved losers of the April 11, 2015 governorship polls in the two states to proceed to the apex court.

•Photo shows the Supreme Court, Abuja.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...