League of Nigerian Columnists holds public lecture, honours leading columnists

Posted by News Express | 14 October 2021 | 277 times

Gmail icon

•Cross section of participants at the LNC public lecture and awards presentation . . . October 12,



It was an intellectual feast and a time to mingle with both old and young colleagues as the League of Nigerian Columnists (LNC) on Tuesday, October 12, 2021 held its public lecture and presentation of awards to some of the country’s leading columnists – dead and alive.

The twin even was held at the Centre for International Advanced and Professional Studies (CIAPS), Lagos, with the Lead Speaker, Brigadier General S.K Usman (Rtd), making a well-received presentation on “Human Rights and Security in Nigeria”.

The event had Senator (Rtd Major General) Ike Nwachukwu as chairman, while Mr Ted Iwere, the Chief Executive Officer and founder of SME Media, and Ms Ayo Ogunsola Obe, CFR, a Legal practitioner and human rights activist, were discussants.

The occasion featured the presentation of Posthumous Awards to legendary columnists such as Alhaji Lateef Jakande, Gbolabo Ogunsanwo and the Henry Olu Jimi Boyo for their service and contribution to humanity through their writings while alive. Also presented with awards were living legends such as Sam Amuka-Pemu, Dan Agbese and Dr Haroun Adamu.

The award for Jakande was received by his wife, Alhaja Abimbola Sikirat Jakande, whule that of Boyo was collected by his wife, Very Reverend (Mrs) Magdalene Boyo. Ogunsanwo’s award was received by two of his children.

Established in September 2018, LNC is a fellowship of leading columnists dedicated to nurturing and preserving an open democratic, and progressive society in Nigeria. It is composed of columnists whose writings are published weekly or with reasonable frequency in newspapers and magazines in Nigeria.

Leading members of LNC include Tola Adeniyi (National President), Yakubu Mohammed (Vice President), Ray Ekpu, Dan Agbese, Martins Oloja, Reuben Abati, Dare Babarinsa, Ikechukwu Amaechi and Professor Anthony Kila (Secretary-General).

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...