Re-run polls: Arase reads Riot Act to police officers, restricts vehicular movement

Posted by News Express | 25 April 2015 | 2,293 times

Gmail icon

Acting Inspector-General of Police, Solomon E. Arase, has sent a serious note of warning to all officers involved in today’s re-run elections in Abia, Imo, Kogi, Delta and Taraba states to conduct themselves in line with established Standard Operational Guidelines.

The IGP said this in a statement signed by the Force Public Relations Officer, Ag. CP Emmanuel C.S. Ojukwu, yesterday in Abuja.

 “While reminding officers to be above board and maintain the highest level of professionalism for which the Force has been widely commended both locally and internationally, the IGP warn that severe disciplinary sanctions would be meted out to any deviant officer who breaches the code of conduct,” he sadi.

Ojukwu, in another statement, said that Arase had ordered the restriction on vehicular movement from the hours of 8am to 5pm in the affected local government areas of the states where re-run elections are to hold.

“This restriction of vehicular movements order affects movements in and out of the areas where the rerun elections are to take place, except for Ambulances, Fire Service Trucks and others on essential duties. Consequently, travellers and citizens who intend to ply roads within those hours are advised to plan alternative routes.

“The IGP also warns government officials and political office holders not to go to polling Units with uniformed orderlies or aides, while persons who have no business with voting must not be found within 300 metres of a polling unit.

“The Police High Command has also put adequate security measures in place by the deployments of additional senior officers to supervise security of elections in the states as follows:

“To Abia State: One (1) Deputy Inspector-General of Police, One (1) Assistant Inspector-General of Police and Two (2) Commissioners of Police.

“To Imo State: One (1) Assistant Inspector-General of Police and Three (3) Commissioners of Police.

“To Taraba State: Two (2) Assistant Inspectors-General of Police and Two (2) Deputy Commissioners of Police.

“Meanwhile, citizens are enjoined to remain vigilant and report all suspicious movements or dealings to appropriate Police Authority,” Ojukwu said.

•Photo shows Arase


Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...